Thanksgiving Plan: Recipe Round-up

We’re hosting Thanksgiving again this year and although we’ve attempted to simplify things, I’m not SO sure we’ve really succeeded in that. We are delegating some things: rolls, sweet potatoes, mashed potatoes, apple pie, appetizers, but we’re handling the heavy hitters. Here’s what I have in mind:

Tom Colicchio’s Herb Butter Turkeybecause the ultimate judge of Top Chef can’t be wrong, can he? (Can he!?) Also, this recipe is one of the highest rated turkey recipes on Epicurious, and it doesn’t call for brining. Although I want to try that some day, I’m just a little too intimidated right now.

Arugula, Pear and Goat Cheese Salad with Pomegranate Vinaigrette …because f*ck green beans. I think Thanksgiving food tastes great with a light, flavorful and acidic salad.

Cranberry-Ginger Chutney …because f*ck cranberries in a can. In fact, I don’t really like any cranberry anything I’ve ever had at Thanksgiving, but I DO love chutney. And this recipe was also very highly lauded by the people using Epicurious.

Walnut Bourbon Pie…because Bourbon is amazing and so are walnuts. Adapted from this recipe except replace the dark corn syrup with brown sugar. Just as good without supporting the evil that is the corn-syrup industry.

Vanilla Ice Cream ….that I plan to spike with more Bourbon…

Julia & Jacque’s Deglazing saucethis is the deglazing sauce that Julia Child and Jacque Pepin use to deglaze the roasted chicken pan. It is, simply, amazing. I’m going to try to make some on the side as an alternative to the gravy that comes with Tom’s turkey recipe. With this recipe you “scatter” some carrots and onions in the roasting pan while the bird is roasting. It is nice to dice these quite finely and then refuse to strain it.

My mom’s bread stuff with apples and sausage… I made this last year and it was a success, but I’m not sure how it will go this year. I’ll take notes on an actual recipe and post it later. In the mean time, it’s not so different from this (except that I’m going to buy my sage-thyme sausage from Whole Foods, and I’ll add raisins, cornbread and pumpernickel bread cubes.)

We wish you all a happy and successful day of food, family and giving thanks!

Leave a Reply

