Recipe Round-up

Well, it has been some time since we’ve updated this blog. It has not had anything much to do in a decrease in cooking, per se, but more a decrease in fantastic delectable delights. We’ve been eating pretty close to the ground this summer– grilling garden veggies, chopping tomatoes for bruschetta, and generally making quite simple food that seems too mundane to blog about.

 

But, other bloggers are QUITE busy, and I’ve been accumulating some recipes from around the internet that I think will be tasty and worthy of a trip to the kitchen.

First, there’s this delicious looking sour cherry upside-down cake from Brooklyn Supper. I’m new to Brooklyn Supper, but I am recently enamored. Besides the cake, there is a recipe for home made bloody mary mix for goodness sakes!

Speaking of being enamored, I am also a proponent of  entree salads these days. All kinds are fair game, but this skirt-steak salad with arugula and blue cheese from Smitten Kitchen looks just lovely. I’m not even usually that keen on steak, but the idea of combining garden cherry tomatoes and late summer arugula along with blue cheese just makes my mouth water…

Dinner Tonight also has a recipe for a steak salad, although this one is Thai and is called Yam Neua with cucumbers, mint and other delicious things. To round out a possible Thai-inspired meal,  Simply Recipes had a recipe for Thai Green Curry with Eggplants.

Or, there is a different kind of curry discussed by Dinner Tonight which made with green tomatoes; apparently an Indian specialty. I’m really interested to try this when the weather cools down enough that I can give up on seeing the green ones in our garden turn red!

And yesterday a good friend forwarded this recipe from Mark Bittman’s Minimalist column in the New York Times. I think I’ll save this recipe for when the weather cools off a bit here (it was still quite warm here in Denver this past week), but it looks lovely: Chickpea Tagine with Chicken and Apricots. The last time I was in New York City, some friends took us to a lovely Moroccan restaurant where we had a meal similar to this and burnt our mouths on the (new to me at the time) harissa. I’m looking forward to giving it a shot and seeing how it is different from another tagine I made earlier this year with plums and kumquats in addition to the chicken.

Our zucchini plant is not being quite as prolific as it was during the boom-time of the summer, but it is still craking those suckers out. 101 Cookbooks has a very interesting recipe for Quick Pickled Zucchini which I think could be quite fun… and delicious… and a great way to make summer last just a little bit longer.

 

Leave a Reply

